NancyFamolari’s Weblog

Meet D. Renee Bagby

Posted on: December 16, 2008

serenity-200x300-72resI asked Renee how she became an author.

I became an author as an outlet for the stories I would make up to entertain myself. I had a hard time remembering them all so one day I started writing them down. I finally decided to actually polish something enough for publishing when I couldn’t find the types of books I wanted to read—fantasy romance with an interracial slant. As the old saying goes, “Necessity is the mother of invention”. So, I ended up writing to entertain myself and, it turned out, other people like reading my stories too.

Her latest release is Serenity from Samhain Publishing. Here’s what she has to say about why she wrote it..

    1. My most recent release is Serenity. It came out in ebook in May and will be in print at the end of January 2009. It is a fantasy romance set on an alternate Earth.

    2. I don’t quite remember how I came up with this story. I remember I wanted to name a character Serenity and have her smiling all the time, which, as my beta reader pointed out once I finished writing the story, made Serenity a sociopath. I didn’t mean to do that but it’s her character. And how I threw that smiling, usually happy, girl into the mix with a seven-foot tall blue demon with giant horns sprouting from his neck, I’m not sure. But, they are a happy couple, so I guess I can’t complain.

    3. My favorite character from Serenity is Chigaru. He’s pretty much everyone’s favorite and he’s getting his own story which will further Serenity’s story as well. I loved him because he was silent and extremely loyal. It’s a shame I have to make him talk in his book but his heroine won’t let him remain the strong, silent type.

    You can get more information about D. Renee Bagby at the following sites:

      1. Email – dreneebagby@gmail.com and zenobiarenquist@gmail.com

      2. Website – http://dreneebagby.com and http://zenobiarenquist.com

      3. Blog – http://dreneebagby.blogspot.com

      4. Myspace – http://www.myspace.com/kuraimegami and http://www.myspace.com/zenobiarenquist

1 Response to "Meet D. Renee Bagby"

Loved this interview! I esp. liked hearing your thoughts about ebooks. I am glad to hear that some folks buy ebooks then go back and get the print version when it is available.

thanks for sharing~!

Leave a Reply

